All You Need To Know About Group D in the 2018 World Cup

The 2018 world cup is just a few days away and almost all of the top teams have announced the squad that is going to participate in the game. This shows that they are ready to take on the challenge and put everything they have into winning one of the most coveted competitions in the world.

There are several groups in the completion and each of this group simply consist of four teams from different parts of the world. The rule of the game is that only two of the teams with the highest point is going to qualify for the next round of the competition.

Nigeria is one of the country participating in the completion and they are in group D. the other members of this group are Argentina, Croatia and Iceland. What this means is that Nigeria must be in the first two in their group to qualify.

SEE ALSO: FIFA World Cup Trophy History, Design & It’s Worth

In this article we are going to look at the team’s one after the other, especially looking at the squad they are taking to the world cup;

2018 World Cup Group D Squad

  • Argentina2018 World Cup

This is the country of one of the best footballers in the world, Lionel Messi. This country has always been paired with Nigeria and they were in the same group in 1994, 2002, 2010 and 2015. The team squad include;

1 Sergio Romero 31 GK
2 Franco Armani 31 GK
3 Willy Caballero 36 GK
4 Cristian Ansaldi 31 Defender
5 Marcos Rojo 28 Defender
6 Marcos Acuña 26 Defender
7 Nicolás Tagliafico 25 Defender
8 Gabriel Mercado 31 Defender
9 Nicolás Otamendi 30 Defender
10 Javier Mascherano 33 Defender
11 Federico Fazio 31 Defender
12 Ever Banega 29 Midfielder
13 Lucas Biglia 31 Midfielder
14 Giovani Lo Celso 22 Midfielder
15 Eduardo Salvio 27 Midfielder
16 Cristian Pavón 22 Midfielder
17 Maximiliano Meza 26 Midfielder
18 Ángel Di María 30 Midfielder
19 Manuel Lanzini 25 Forward
20 Leo Messi 31 Forward
21 Paulo Dybala 24 Forward
22 Kun Agüero 29 Forward
23 Gonzalo Higuaín 30 Forward
oogle || []).push({});


  • Iceland

2018 World Cup

This team has never played Nigeria in the world cup but they have had a friendly match with Nigeria which they won by three goals to nothing. They also are in group D and will be playing Nigeria on Friday 22nd of June. Their squad have already traveled and are training in Russia ahead of the competition;


  • Frederik August Schram
  • Hannes Thór Halldórsson
  • Rúnar Rúnarsson


  • Hördur Magnusson
  • Holmar Örn Eyjolfsson
  • Ragnar Sigurdsson
  • Birkir Mar Saevarsson
  • Ari Freyr Skúlason
  • Kári Arnason
  • Sverrir Ingi Ingason
  • Midfielder
  • Birkir Bjarnason
  • Gylfi Sigurdsson
  • Olafur Ingi Skulason
  • Arnor Ingvi Traustason
  • Aron Gunnarsson
  • Rúrik Gíslason
  • Emil Hallfredsson
  • Samúel Kari Fridjónsson

Attacking Midfielder

  • Johann Berg Gudmundsson


  • Albert Gudmundsson
  • Jón Dadi Bödvarsson
  • Alfred Finnbogason
  • Björn Sigurdarson


  • Croatia

2018 World Cup

Just like Iceland Croatia has also not met Nigeria before in the world cup and this is the first time the two teams are meeting. Croatia squad include;

1 Danijel Subašić 33 GK
2 Lovre Kalinić 27 GK
3 Dominik Livaković 23 GK
4 Vedran Ćorluka 32 Defender
6 Domagoj Vida 28 Defender
7 Ivan Strinić 30 Defender
8 Šime Vrsaljko 26 Defender
9 Josip Pivarić 29 Defender
10 Tin Jedvaj 22 Defender
11 Dejan Lovren 28 Defender
12 Matej Mitrović 33 Defender
13 Luka Modrić (C) 32 Midfielder
14 Ivan Rakitić 30 Midfielder
15 Ivan Perišić 29 Midfielder
16 Mateo Kovačić 23 Midfielder
17 Marko Rog 22 Midfielder
18 Marcelo Brozović 25 Midfielder
19 Milan Badelj 29 Midfielder
20 Mario Mandžukić 31 Forward
21 Nikola Kalinić 30 Forward
22 Andrej Kramarić 26 Forward
23 Marko Pjaca 22 Forward

SEE MORE: Fifa World Cup 2018 Referees Salaries

  • Nigeria

2018 World Cup

Finally, Nigeria will have to be the first or second in group D to qualify for the next stage. They also have a 23 man squad heading for the competition which will officially kick-off on June 16. The team’s squad include;


Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United).


William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor), Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC), Leon Balogun (Brighton), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa).


Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy).


Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone).

Which country do you think that will make it to the 2018 World Cup final? please use the comment  box below to share your thought.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.