FIFA World Cup Trophy History, Design & It’s Worth

This article will reveal to you the FIFA World Cup Trophy History, what it’s made off, who design the world cup trophy and it’s worth. So, keep reading to get the full gist. It’s just about a few days from now, the FIFA World Cup 2018 will kick off place in Russia in June-July 2018.

The winners of FIFA World Cup 2018 tournament will get that trademark shinning gold “FIFA World Cup Trophy” on 15th July. So, in this post, we have covered the history of World Cup trophy since the inception of Football World Cup back in 1930.

FIFA World Cup Trophy History, Design & It’s Worth

FIFA World Cup Trophy History

The presently “FIFA World Cup Trophy” was introduced in 1974 World Cup and since then its been used by FIFA, awarding it to winners of World Cups from 1974 to date. Furthermore, the Trophy is made of 18-carat gold with the base made of malachite. The height of the trophy is 36.8 centimeters while it weighs at 6.1 kilograms.

Until a team wins the world cup three times since 1974, the trophy will be kept by FIFA and only the replica is given out to winners. The current world cup trophy is widely regarded as the most iconic trophies in Sports today.

SEE ALSO: Fifa World Cup 2018 Referees Salaries

The new world cup trophy was made by Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni company in Italy. The trophy features two humanly figures kind of holding the earth. Then, at the bottom of the trophy, FIFA engrave names of each of the winning teams since 1974.

Only Germany, Argentina, Italy and Brazil have won this trophy twice since 1974 and as it stands now if any of the teams win it three times, they get to keep the real FIFA World Cup Trophy forever.

Jules Rimet Trophy (The Original One)

FIFA World Cup Trophy History

Jules Rimet Trophy was designed by “Abel Lafleur” and gold plated sterling silver was used on white/yellow marble base. It was around 35 centimeters in height and 3.8kg in weight. Also, a figure representing Greek goddess of victory was the prominent feature of the trophy.

Uruguay was the winner of 1930 World Cup and became the first team to win this trophy. Jules Rimet trophy was awarded to winners of World Cup from 1930 to 1970.

READ MORE: Qualified Teams For 2018 FIFA World Cup

According to 1930 World Cup rules, winners of the world cup will hand back the world cup trophy to FIFA until a team wins it three times, then they can keep the real trophy forever. This happened in 1970 when Brazil won their third World Cup. Currently, Jules Rimet trophy is on display at the Brazil FA headquarters in Rio de Janeiro.

What do you think about the FIFA World Cup Trophy History? please use the comment box section below to let us know. Also, remember to share this post on your social media account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.